Vegetarians are notoriously picky when it comes to their food. This makes sense, of course, given the fact that many vegetarians have allergy issues or their bodies have adjusted to eating certain types of food. To put it simply, one cannot just begin eating bacon after taking years off from eating meat.
This is a recipe for disaster and for food illness. Likewise, many vegetarians have very real moral hang-ups about eating meat. If you want to cook for your vegetarian friend you should make sure you are considerate over their limits. Cooking classes such as Italian Vegetarian Favorites for 2, Vegetarian Paella, and Vegetarian Multi-Course Feast are alternative options to spend a fun evening with your vegetarian friend if you are not in the mood for cooking. Whether you are doing it yourself or you are attending a class, here are some things you should notice and learn:
How to Cook for Vegetarians
Lacto vegetarians are some of the most common. They eat animal dairy products like milk, cheese, ice cream, and the like. They do not eat any meat, however, including fish. These individuals are easier to cook for because of the large number of dishes that require cheese, milk, or some other dairy product.
Lacto-ovo vegetarians are much like lacto vegetarians with the big difference being the addition of eggs. Lacto-ovo vegetarians eat eggs and poached eggs in addition to dairy animal products. These individuals also avoid cheese that contains rennet. The good news for you if you're preparing food for these individuals is that they'll likely be very excited to tell you all about their preference, so you will know exactly what you should not make.
Vegans are more restricted than any other group. Vegans traditionally avoid all animal products, including dairy, eggs, gelatin, and any type of meat. Cooking for these people can be more difficult because of the number of foods that need dairy products. In many instances, vegans are lactose intolerant, so their aversion to milk products is about more than just their moral code. They may actually get sick if you happen to feed them something that doesn't work for their restriction.
Pescatarians are not technically vegetarians, but they are often grouped in together with these individuals. These are people who eat fish, but not other meat products. These individuals may or may not consume dairy, so you will need to ask in order to investigate their preferences.
Miso glazed eggplant
Cooking for a vegetarian does not have to be hard. You just need to ask questions so you have a good idea of what not to prepare. From there, keep it simple. The biggest mistake you can make is trying to create something outside of your culinary strike zone.
View the original blog via:
Did you like this blog?
Mention @ohmydish or tag #ohmydish on Instagram!